Entries open for $20k journalism award

ENTRIES have opened for the $20,000 Graham Perkin Award for the Australian Journalist of the Year – the one of the nation’s most prestigious annual awards for professional excellence.

The award is open to journalists across the industry. Organisers have expressed concern that it is seen as open only at Fairfax Media because the award is in recognition of Graham Perkin, late editor of The Age (1966-1975).

The Graham Perkin Award was instituted in 1976. Previous winners have included Paul Kelly, Peter Wilson and Paul Toohey, all of The Australian, John Lyons, then of the now-closed Bulletin and Pamela Williams, of The Australian Financial Review.

The Award is open to any professional journalist whose work appears in any Australian newspaper or magazine in the previous year (2008).

Single contributions or a series of articles will be considered. The award may also be given for journalistic service in the public interest. Editors may also be nominated for outstanding leadership and campaigning.

The key judging criteria includes:
Overall excellence in the print medium,
Writing quality,
Investigative skills;
Impact and relevance;
Originality; and

A nomination letter, photo and three copies of the nominee’s work must be included. Self-nominations are welcome. For more information, contact Miranda Ramsay at The Age on Tel: (03) 9601 2661 or Email: MRamsay@theage.com.au. The winner will be announced at the Quill Awards of the Melbourne Press Club on March 20, at the Crown Palladium.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: